Chakra for Beginners: Get to Know the 7 Chakras

This post probably contains affiliate links. Which means I may earn a commission if you use them at no cost to you. Please read our boring disclosure for more info.

The first time I heard about chakras was from my best friend. She was telling me about aligning hers through meditation and crystals. I was intrigued but she said, “You’re not ready yet.” 

At the time I was just starting to explore my spiritual side and learning all these wonderful things. Of course, I thought I was ready but she was correct. Since then I’ve grown spiritually and thought is was finally time to share what I’ve learned about chakra for beginners to you. 


What is a Chakra?

Chakra means wheel in Sanskrit and they are metaphysical nodes of energy. It’s where the physical, spiritual, and emotional states of being all intersect. 

Simply put, they help analyze how the balance of energy within an individual contributes to their holistic wellness. 

What are the Different Chakras?

Your chakras are located in the middle of your body from head to toe. However, we align them from bottom to top.

There are 7 in total which represent a region of the body and its corresponding metaphysical properties. 

1// Root Chakra: Muladhara

The root chakra is the foundation of stability, sexuality, and safety. Located near the tailbone, it addresses the basic needs that ground day-to-day life. 

When you are one with Muladhara, you enter a synergetic relationship with the Earth. If you are not grounded then you may have a tendency to overeat, overspend, or use sex as a temporary release. 

Root Chakra Crystals

You can balance your root chakra with Carnelian or Blak Tourmaline

Root Chakra Essential Oils

Cedarwood, Patchouli, or Myrrh

2// Sacral Chakra: Svadisthana

The sacral chakra is the home of sexual and creative energy. It is located just below the navel and provides enjoyment in life. 

If you are experiencing constant anger, fear, jealousy, or relationship issues then your sacral chakra is probably out of balance. 

Sacral Chakra Crystals

You can balance your sacral chakra with fire opal, carnelian, orange calcite, or yellow topaz.

Sacral Chakra Essential Oils

Sandalwood, Jasmine, Rose, Ylang Ylang, or Champaca

3// Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura

Occupying the central abdomen region, this chakra contributes to self-confidence and self-esteem.

If you never have any energy, are constantly insecure or fearful then your solar plexus chakra may be out of balance. 

Solar Plexus Chakra Crystals

You can balance your root chakra with Topaz, Yellow Tourmaline, or Citrine

Solar Plexus Chakra Essential Oils

Clary Sage, Juniper, Geranium, or Peppermint

4// Heart Chakra: Anahata

Consistent with the wide association between the heart and love, this chakra is responsible for forgiveness, compassion, and kindness.

If you have a lack of meaningful relationships, romantic or friendships, then your heart chakra may be imbalanced. 

Heart Chakra Crystals

You can balance your root chakra with Watermelon Tourmaline, Rose Quartz, or Rhodocrosite

Heart Chakra Essential Oils

Rose, Melissa, or Neroli

5//Throat Chakra: Vishuddha

True to its location, this chakra gives personal truths a voice.

If you have issues with communication or are denying your spiritual truth then your throat chakra may be unbalanced. 

Throat Chakra Crystals

You can balance your root chakra with Turquoise, Gem Silica, or Chrysocolla

Throat Chakra Essential Oils

Lavender, Chamomile, Rosemary, Thyme, or Clary Sage

6// Third-Eye or Brow Chakra: Ajna

Also referred to as the mind’s eye, this chakra is housed just between the eyebrows and is responsible for intuition. 

If you are ignoring your 6th sense or have trouble sleeping then your third-eye chakra may be imbalanced. 

Third-Eye Chakra Crystals

You can balance your root chakra with Lapis Lazuli

Third-Eye Chakra Essential Oils

Frankincense or Basil

7// Crown Chakra: Sahasrara 

This chakra allows the mind to achieve its most enlightened state and provides the strongest spiritual connection with the surrounding universe. 

If you are experiencing constant headaches that have not improved after medical intervention then your crown chakra may be out of balance.

Crown Chakra Crystals

You can balance your root chakra with Clear Quartz or Amethyst

Crown Chakra Essential Oils

Ylang Ylang, Rosewood, Lime Blossom, Lotus

Chakra Balancing Act

The body and spirit are inextricably linked at these seven points. Therefore, true health is only achieved when your chakras are balanced internally. This allows energy to flow freely throughout your body. 

Physical discomfort in a particular chakra region can indicate an imbalance in that area. Basically, your spiritual self is giving you a physical sign that something is wrong. 

For example, I’ve been suffering from knee pain on and off for the past two years. At one point, it was so bad that I was unable to walk without a limp for 30 days. I went to the doctor but of course, there was nothing they could do other than give me ibuprofen.

However, as I was researching this post I realized that pain is because my root chakra is out of balance. I’m not grounded and haven’t been since my international move three years ago. Now that I’m finally aware of the issue I can take steps to fix it. 

How to Balance Your Chakras

There are numerous ways to align your chakras so they may heal your body, mind, and spirit. I’ve listed the most popular was below. 

  • Mediation
  • Healing crystals
  • Visualization techniques
  • Aromatherapy
  • Yoga
  • Reiki healing

One way doesn’t work better than the other. Just choose whichever method you’re drawn to. 

Wrap up: Chakra 101

Being aware that you are out of alignment is the first step for chakra for beginners. Maintaining those alignments is a life long practice like yoga. When I first started chakra mediations I did it from the top to the bottom. It worked but now I know I must be grounded first before everything else can fall in place. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *